Advising

Welcome to our Advising page! Every student in our program has an assigned advisor. Undergraduates are assigned according to last name;  all Minors should consult with Professor Jason McDaniel; Graduate students should consult with Graduate Coordinator Professor Amanda Roberti.

Undergraduates, please see the list below for your assigned advisor and their office hours. If those hours don't work, or if you want to see someone in particular, you're also welcome to attend any other advisor's office hours. It's always a good idea to meet with an advisor one-on-one early in your career at SF State to make sure you're on the right track and are aware of all opportunities.

Undergraduate Major Advising

Students with last names: Advisor Email Office Hours
Last names: A-BRI Prof. Aaron Belkin belkin@sfsu.edu F 12:30-1:30 pm on Zoom
Last names: BRO-CHAN Prof. Nicholas Conway nickconway@sfsu.edu

M 2-3 pm, & W 3-4 PM in HUM 551

Last names: CHAS-ESC Prof. Rebecca Eissler reissler@sfsu.edu T 2-3 pm in HUM 531, & W 4-5 pm on Zoom
Last names: ESP-GUM Prof. Marcela Garcia-Castanon mgcs@sfsu.edu M 9-10 am on Zoom, & W 12-1 pm in HUM 558
Last names: GUT-KAN Prof. Joel Kassiola kassiola@sfsu.edu  
Last names: KAS-MARI Prof. James Martel jmartel@sfsu.edu T/Th 1-2 pm on Zoom
Last names: MARS-NI Prof. Jason McDaniel mcdaniel@sfsu.edu

 

 

Last names: NO-REL Prof. Francis Neely fneely@sfsu.edu M 12:30-1:30 pm, & T 2:00-2:30 PM in HUM 273
Last names: REY-SOR Prof. Whitney Taylor wktaylor@sfsu.edu W 1-3 pm on Zoom
Last names: SOT-Z Prof. Nicole Watts nfwatts@sfsu.edu  

Graduate Advising

Students with last names: Advisor Email Office hours
Last names: A-Z Prof. Amanda Roberti aroberti@sfsu.edu  

Minor

For any PLSI minor advising questions for Fall 2022, please contact PLSI Minor Advisor Professor Jason McDaniel by email at mcdaniel@sfsu.edu.

Please include Last Name, First Name and SFSU ID in email SUBJECT line.

Major

Majors in the College of Liberal & Creative Arts (LCA) should consult with two advisors each semester: 

(1) an advisor in the major and

(2) a general education and university requirements advisor in the ARC (Advising Resource Center for LCA).

Students who are completing a minor or an additional major should see an advisor in those programs as well.

Graduate

Visit the Division of Graduate Studies, which offers counseling and advising regarding issues ranging from applications to graduation.

First-year Students are advised by the Undergraduate Advising Center.

Sophomores, Juniors and Seniors are advised by the Advising Resource Center (ARC).

The College of Liberal & Creative Arts established the student Advising Resource Center (ARC) to provide multiple support services to students. You can receive information regarding requirements for your degree, petitions, financial aid, tutoring, student clubs, events, careers and much more.

Visit the Advising Resource Center for more information.