Advising

Welcome to our Advising page! Every student in our program has an assigned advisor. Undergrads are assigned according to last name. Grad students in the MA program should consult with grad coordinator Prof. Kate Gordy. SF State Scholars can double dip! Undergrads, please see the list below for your assigned advisor and their office hours. If those hours don't work, or if you want to see someone in particular, you're also welcome to attend any other advisor's office hours. It's always a good idea to meet with an advisor one-on-one early in your career at SF State to make sure you're on the right track and are aware of all opportunities.

Undergraduate Major Advising
Students with last names: Advisor Email Office hours
Last names: A-BO Prof. Aaron Belkin belkin@sfsu.edu  
       
Last names: CO-FI Prof. Sujian Guo sguo@sfsu.edu  
Last names: FL-HOW Prof. Ron Hayduk rhayduk@sfsu.edu

 

Last names: HU-LI Prof. Joel Kassiola kassiola@sfsu.edu  
Last names: LO-MEN Prof. James Martel jmartel@sfsu.edu  
Last names: MEV-PEL Prof. Jason McDaniel mcdaniel@sfsu.edu  
Last names: PEN-ROD Prof. Francis Neely fneely@sfsu.edu  
Last names: ROE-T Prof. Whitney Taylor wktaylor@sfsu.edu  
Last names: U-Z Prof. Nicole Watts nfwatts@sfsu.edu  

Please Note: During this period of remote instruction in response to COVID-19, academic advising remains available via email, phone, and Zoom. Reach out to us for continued support!

Majors in the College of Liberal & Creative Arts (LCA) should consult with two advisers each semester: (1) an adviser in the major and (2) a general education and university requirements adviser in the ARC (Advising Resource Center for LCA). Students who are completing a minor or an additional major should see an adviser in those programs as well.

Graduate Advising
Students with last names: Advisor Email Office hours
Last names: A-Z Prof. Katherine Gordy kgordy@sfsu.edu

 

Visit the Division of Graduate Studies, which offers counseling and advising regarding issues ranging from applications to graduation.

For any PLSI minor advising questions for spring 2021, please contact PLSI Minor Advisor Prof. Lucia Volk. Please include Last Name, First Name and SFSU ID in email SUBJECT line.

 

 

 

For General Education and University Requirements

First-year Students are advised by the Undergraduate Advising Center

Sophomores, Juniors, and Seniors are advised by the Advising Resource Center (ARC)

Additional Resources

Advising Resource Center

The College of Liberal & Creative Arts established the student Advising Resource Center (ARC) to provide multiple support services to students. You can receive information regarding requirements for your degree, petitions, financial aid, tutoring, student clubs, events, careers and much more.

Visit the Advising Resource Center website for more information.

Additional Academic Advising and Tutoring Resources

Forms