Advising

Trying to figure out what you need to graduate, or if you're almost done? Fill out the major checklist and bring it to your advisor.

Graduate Advising
Students with last names: Advisor Email Office hours
Last names: A-Z Prof. Katherine Gordy kgordy@sfsu.edu  

Visit the Division of Graduate Studies, which offers counseling and advising regarding issues ranging from applications to graduation.

For any PLSI minor advising questions for spring 2021, please contact PLSI Minor Advisor Prof. Lucia Volk. Please include Last Name, First Name and SFSU ID in email SUBJECT line.

 

 

Undergraduate Major Advising
Students with last names: Advisor Email Office hours
Last names: A-BO Prof. Aaron Belkin belkin@sfsu.edu Wednesdays 3:00-4:00pm via Zoom. Join here
Last names: BR-CL Prof. Martin Carcieri carcieri@sfsu.edu Office hours via phone: Mondays 4:00-6:00pm. Please email Prof. Carcieri to schedule an appointment
Last names: CO-FI Prof. Sujian Guo sguo@sfsu.edu Tuesdays and Thursdays 4:30-5:30pm via Zoom. Please email Prof. Guo for hours and the link to speak with him during Zoom office hours
Last names: FL-HOW Prof. Ron Hayduk rhayduk@sfsu.edu

Mondays 1:00-2:00pm and by appointment via Zoom. Join Here

Last names: HU-LI Prof. Joel Kassiola kassiola@sfsu.edu Monday, Wednesday and Friday afternoons by appointment only via Zoom. Please email Prof. Kassiola to schedule an appointment. Join Here
Last names: LO-MEN Prof. James Martel jmartel@sfsu.edu Tuesdays and Thursdays 1:00-2:00pm via Zoom. Join Here
Last names: MEV-PEL Prof. Jason McDaniel mcdaniel@sfsu.edu  
Last names: PEN-ROD Prof. Francis Neely fneely@sfsu.edu

Mondays 12:30-1:30pm via Zoom. Join Here

Wednesdays 11:00am-1:00pm via Zoom. Join Here

Last names: ROE-T Prof. Whitney Taylor wktaylor@sfsu.edu

Wednesdays and Thursdays 2:00-3:00pm via Zoom. Join Here

and by appointment

Last names: U-Z Prof. Nicole Watts nfwatts@sfsu.edu Tuesdays 3:00-3:30pm and Wednesdays 3:00-4:00pm via Zoom. Join Here

Students are assigned to faculty advisors alphabetically according to their last names.

Please Note: During this period of remote instruction in response to COVID-19, academic advising remains available via email, phone, and Zoom. Reach out to us for continued support!

Majors in the College of Liberal & Creative Arts (LCA) should consult with two advisers each semester: (1) an adviser in the major and (2) a general education and university requirements adviser in the ARC (Advising Resource Center for LCA). Students who are completing a minor or an additional major should see an adviser in those programs as well.

For General Education and University Requirements

First-year Students are advised by the Undergraduate Advising Center

Sophomores, Juniors, and Seniors are advised by the Advising Resource Center (ARC)

Additional Resources

Advising Resource Center

The College of Liberal & Creative Arts established the student Advising Resource Center (ARC) to provide multiple support services to students. You can receive information regarding requirements for your degree, petitions, financial aid, tutoring, student clubs, events, careers and much more.

Visit the Advising Resource Center website for more information.

Additional Academic Advising and Tutoring Resources

Forms