Advising

Welcome to our Advising page! Every student in our program has an assigned advisor. Undergraduates are assigned according to last name. Graduate students in the M.A. program should consult with Graduate Coordinator Professor Kate Gordy. SF State Scholars can double dip! 

Undergraduates, please see the list below for your assigned advisor and their office hours. If those hours don't work, or if you want to see someone in particular, you're also welcome to attend any other advisor's office hours. It's always a good idea to meet with an advisor one-on-one early in your career at SF State to make sure you're on the right track and are aware of all opportunities.

Undergraduate Major Advising

Students with last names: Advisor Email Office Hours
Last names: A-BAT Prof. Nicholas Conway nickconway@sfsu.edu Monday & Wednesday 4-5 p.m., in-person (HUM 551)
Last names: BAU-CAR Prof. Rebecca Eissler reissler@sfsu.edu Tuesday 12:30 to 1:30 p.m. in-person (HUM 531), Wednesdays 12:30-1:30 p.m. on Zoom, Join Professor Eissler's Zoom, and by appointment via Zoom
Last names: CAS-DEC Prof. Marcela Garcia-Castanon mgcs@sfsu.edu Monday, 10 a.m.-12 p.m. and Wednesday, 12-2 p.m., schedule an appointment online via my calendar. ‘Drop In’ Hours via Zoom: Tuesday 3:30-5 p.m., Thursday 12-2 p.m., Join Professor Garcia-Castanon's Zoom
Last names: DEP-GAU Prof. Sujian Guo sguo@sfsu.edu Tuesday and Thursday 4-5 p.m.; please email Prof. Guo to schedule an appointment
Last names: GE-HY Prof. Ron Hayduk rhayduk@sfsu.edu Tuesday 1-2 p.m. Join Professor Hayduk's Zoom
Last names: I-LE Prof. Joel Kassiola kassiola@sfsu.edu By appointment on zoom; please email Prof. Kassiola to schedule an appointment
Last names: LI-MAR Prof. James Martel jmartel@sfsu.edu Tuesday and Thursday 1-2 p.m. Join Professor Martel's Zoom
Last names: MAT-NEI Prof. Jason McDaniel mcdaniel@sfsu.edu In-person on Tuesday: 2- 3:30 p.m. (HUM 436); Wednesday: 11 a.m.- 12:30 p.m. on Zoom, Join Professor McDaniel's Zoom; other times available by appointment (in person and Zoom)
Last names: NEL-PO Prof. Francis Neely fneely@sfsu.edu In-person office hours: Mondays 2-3 p.m., Tuesdays 12:30-1:30 p.m. (HUM 273) and by appointment
Last names: PR-ROE Prof. Amanda Roberti aroberti@sfsu.edu In-person office hours: Wednesday 1-4 p.m. (HUM 565) or by appointment
Last names: ROM-TRA Prof. Whitney Taylor wktaylor@sfsu.edu Wednesday 9-10 a.m. Join Professor Taylor's Zoom and in-person by appointment
Last names: TRE-Z Prof. Nicole Watts nfwatts@sfsu.edu In-person: Tuesday 10-11 a.m. (HUM 304)

Graduate Advising

Students with last names: Advisor Email Office hours
Last names: A-Z Prof. Katherine Gordy kgordy@sfsu.edu Tuesday 2-3:30 p.m. and Wednesday 1-2 p.m. Join Professor Gordy's Zoom

Minor

For any PLSI minor advising questions for fall 2021, please contact PLSI Minor Advisor Professor Marcela Garcia-Castanon by email at mgcs@sfsu.edu.

Please include Last Name, First Name and SFSU ID in email SUBJECT line.

Major

Majors in the College of Liberal & Creative Arts (LCA) should consult with two advisors each semester: 

(1) an advisor in the major and

(2) a general education and university requirements advisor in the ARC (Advising Resource Center for LCA).

Students who are completing a minor or an additional major should see an advisor in those programs as well.

Graduate

Visit the Division of Graduate Studies, which offers counseling and advising regarding issues ranging from applications to graduation.

First-year Students are advised by the Undergraduate Advising Center.

Sophomores, Juniors and Seniors are advised by the Advising Resource Center (ARC).

The College of Liberal & Creative Arts established the student Advising Resource Center (ARC) to provide multiple support services to students. You can receive information regarding requirements for your degree, petitions, financial aid, tutoring, student clubs, events, careers and much more.

Visit the Advising Resource Center for more information.