Advising

Welcome to our Advising page! Every student in our program has an assigned advisor. Undergrads are assigned according to last name. Grad students in the MA program should consult with grad coordinator Prof. Kate Gordy. SF State Scholars can double dip! Undergrads, please see the list below for your assigned advisor and their office hours. If those hours don't work, or if you want to see someone in particular, you're also welcome to attend any other advisor's office hours. It's always a good idea to meet with an advisor one-on-one early in your career at SF State to make sure you're on the right track and are aware of all opportunities.

Undergraduate Major Advising
Students with last names: Advisor Email Office hours
Last names: A-BAT Prof. Nicholas Conway nickconway@sfsu.edu Monday & Wednesday 4:00-5:00 pm, in person (HUM 551)
Last names: BAU-CAR Prof. Rebecca Eissler reissler@sfsu.edu Tuesday 12:30 to 1:30 in person (HUM 531), Wednesdays 12:30-1:30 on Zoom, and by appointment on Zoom
Last names: CAS-DEC Prof. Marcela Garcia-Castanon mgcs@sfsu.edu Monday, 10am-12pm and Wednesday, 12-2pm. Click here to schedule an appointment. ‘Drop In’ Hours via Zoom: Tuesday 3:30pm-5pm, Thursday 12-2pm. Click here to join zoom meetings.
Last names: DEP-GAU Prof. Sujian Guo sguo@sfsu.edu Tuesday and Thursday 4:00-5:00 pm; please email Prof. Guo to schedule an appointment
Last names: GE-HY Prof. Ron Hayduk rhayduk@sfsu.edu

Tuesday 1:00-2:00 pm; click here to join zoom meeting

Last names: I-LE Prof. Joel Kassiola kassiola@sfsu.edu By appointment on zoom; please email Prof. Kassiola to schedule an appointment
Last names: LI-MAR Prof. James Martel jmartel@sfsu.edu Tuesday and Thursday 1:00-2:00 pm on Zoom; click here to join zoom meeting
Last names: MAT-NEI Prof. Jason McDaniel mcdaniel@sfsu.edu In person on Tuesday: 2:00- 3:30pm (HUM 436); via Zoom on Wednesday: 11:00am- 12:30pm, click here to join zoom meeting; Other times available by appointment (in person and Zoom)
Last names: NEL-PO Prof. Francis Neely fneely@sfsu.edu In-person office hours: Mondays 2:00 - 3:00 p.m., Tuesdays 12:30 - 1:30 p.m. (HUM 273) and by appointment
Last names: PR-ROE Prof. Amanda Roberti aroberti@sfsu.edu Wednesday 1:00-4:00 pm (HUM 565) or by appointment
Last names: ROM-TRA Prof. Whitney Taylor wktaylor@sfsu.edu Wednesday 9:00-10:00 am on Zoom and in-person by appointment; click here to join zoom meeting
Last names: TRE-Z Prof. Nicole Watts nfwatts@sfsu.edu In person: Tuesday 10:00-11:00 am (HUM 304)

Please Note: During this period of remote instruction in response to COVID-19, academic advising remains available via email, phone, and Zoom. Reach out to us for continued support!

Majors in the College of Liberal & Creative Arts (LCA) should consult with two advisers each semester: (1) an adviser in the major and (2) a general education and university requirements adviser in the ARC (Advising Resource Center for LCA). Students who are completing a minor or an additional major should see an adviser in those programs as well.

Graduate Advising
Students with last names: Advisor Email Office hours
Last names: A-Z Prof. Katherine Gordy kgordy@sfsu.edu

Tuesday 2:00-3:30 pm and Wednesday 1:00-2:00 pm, click here to join zoom meeting

Visit the Division of Graduate Studies, which offers counseling and advising regarding issues ranging from applications to graduation.

For any PLSI minor advising questions, please contact Prof. Marcela Garcia-Castanon.

 

 

 

For General Education and University Requirements

First-year Students are advised by the Undergraduate Advising Center

Sophomores, Juniors, and Seniors are advised by the Advising Resource Center (ARC)

Additional Resources

Advising Resource Center

The College of Liberal & Creative Arts established the student Advising Resource Center (ARC) to provide multiple support services to students. You can receive information regarding requirements for your degree, petitions, financial aid, tutoring, student clubs, events, careers and much more.

Visit the Advising Resource Center website for more information.

Additional Academic Advising and Tutoring Resources

Forms